The “Missing 411” book series is a collection of non-fiction books written by David Paulides, a former police officer and investigator, which chronicles cases of people who have disappeared under mysterious circumstances in national parks and wilderness areas in North America and other parts of the world.

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

The books cover cases of missing people of all ages, including children, adults, and the elderly, who have vanished without a trace, often in the presence of friends and family or in well-traveled areas. The books document the cases and the unusual circumstances surrounding the disappearances, including unusual weather patterns, unexplained animal behavior, and other bizarre phenomena.

Most people if they love one book they dive into the series, but if you’re wondering if you need to read them in order, you don’t. Each book can be read on its own.

David Paulides’ 411 books in order of publication:

  1. “Tribal Bigfoot” (2009)
  2. “Missing 411 Western United States” (2012)
  3. “Missing 411 Eastern United States” (2012)
  4. “North America and Beyond: The Lost History of Ancient America” (2012)
  5. “Missing 411- The Devil’s in the Detail” (2014)
  6. “Missing 411- A Sobering Coincidence” (2014)
  7. “Missing 411- Interviews: Volume 1” (2016)
  8. “Missing 411- Hunters: Unexplained Disappearances” (2016)
  9. “Missing 411- Law Enforcement: Unexplained Disappearances” (2017)
  10. “Missing 411- Off the Grid: Missing Persons Cases in North America and Abroad” (2017)
  11. “Missing 411- The Movie” (2017)
  12. “Missing 411- Hunters: The Hunted” (2019)
  13. “Missing 411- The Custer Conspiracy” (2020)
  14. “Missing 411- Beyond the Veil” (2021)

Where to buy the 411 book series

The best place to purchase this series is directly from Paulides’ website: Bigfoot Store

Should you have problems finding the copy you need, you can also find them in these places:

These books are known to have a low supply and a high demand which can push up the price f these books. The best place to buy is from the author’s own website, but I do understand the impatience/ frustration around waiting on a book!


Q: What is the 411 book series by David Paulides?

A: The 411 book series is a collection of books written by David Paulides that focus on strange disappearances of people in national parks and other remote areas.

Q: How many books are in the 411 book series?

A: As of September 2021, there are eight books in the series: “Missing 411 Western United States,” “Missing 411 Eastern United States,” “Missing 411 North America and Beyond,” “Missing 411: The Devil’s in the Detail,” “Missing 411: A Sobering Coincidence,” “Missing 411: Off the Grid,” “Missing 411: Hunters,” and “Missing 411: The Movie.”

Q: What is the subject matter of the 411 books?

A: The books focus on unsolved cases of people who have disappeared in national parks and other remote areas under mysterious circumstances. Many of the cases involve individuals who seemingly vanish without a trace or exhibit unusual behavior before disappearing.

Q: Who is David Paulides?

A: David Paulides is a former law enforcement officer and current author and investigator who has been researching and writing about unexplained disappearances in national parks and other remote areas for over a decade. He is the author of the 411 book series.

Q: Are the 411 books based on true stories?

A: Yes, the 411 books are based on real-life cases of unexplained disappearances that have occurred in national parks and other remote areas. Paulides has conducted extensive research on these cases and presents the facts in his books.

Q: What is the main theory behind the 411 book series?

A: Paulides does not propose a single theory to explain the disappearances he writes about in the 411 books. Instead, he presents the facts of the cases and allows readers to draw their own conclusions. Some readers have suggested that the cases may be linked to Bigfoot or other paranormal phenomena, while others believe they may be the result of human trafficking or other criminal activity.

Q: Have the cases in the 411 books ever been solved?

A: Many of the cases presented in the 411 books remain unsolved to this day. Some have been officially closed as accidental or due to natural causes, but Paulides and others argue that the official explanations do not account for all of the available evidence.

What to read next: